Show Menu

Barrett: Seven Stages of Psychological Development Cheat Sheet by

development     stages     battett     psycological


There are two aspects to the Seven Levels Model: the Stages of Psycho­logical Develo­pment model and the Levels of Consci­ousness model. We grow in stages (of psycho­logical develo­pment) and we operate at levels (of consci­ous­ness).

1. Surviving

The quest for survival starts as soon as a human baby is born. The infant child instin­ctively knows, through its DNA progra­mming, how to regulate its body’s internal functi­oning, how to suckle, and how to signal to its parents that it has unmet physio­logical needs.

2. Conforming

Having learned how to survive, the task at the second stage of develo­pment is for the child to learn how to feel safe in its parent­al/­fam­ily­/social enviro­nment. It learns how to conform and fit in. It also learns how to recognise danger signal­s—p­ote­ntial threats to its safety.

3. Differ­ent­iating

During the differ­ent­iation stage of psycho­logical develo­pment, the child/­tee­nager expands his or her operat­ional horizons. Whereas parental relations where of signif­icant importance during the surviving and conforming stages, peer relati­onships and external contro­lling author­ities such as schools and teachers now take on more importance in the child/­tee­nager’s life.

4. Indivi­duating

The task at the indivi­duating stage of develo­pment is to find your True Self—d­iscover who you are beyond your parental progra­mming, beyond the peer group pressures that influenced your behaviour when you were a teenager, and beyond your cultural condit­ioning. You are done with being depend­ent­—se­eking the validation of others to feel good about who you are. You want freedom. You want to be respon­sible and accoun­table for every aspect of your life. You want to embrace your own values. You want to find answers to the question, “Who am I?”

Seven Stages of Psycho­logical Develo­pment

5. Self-A­ctu­alising

Having begun to explore the question “Who am I?” at the indivi­duating stage and get in touch with your True Self, you now begin to explore the question “Why am I here?” and get in touch with your Unique Self. You search for the meaning and purpose in your life: What stirs your passion in life—the reason why your soul incarnated as you.

6. Integr­ating

The integr­ating stage of develo­pment is all about actual­ising your sense of purpos­e—using your unique gifts and talents, along with your creativity to make a difference in the world. This is where you bring together the connection part of your Self-e­xpr­ession with the contri­bution part of your Self-e­xpr­ession.

7. Serving

During the last stage of develo­pment you will feel drawn to a life of self-less service, especially if you have become financ­ially indepe­ndent, have a pension or no longer depend on the income from your work for your survival. At this stage of develo­pment, you want to give back to the world and leave a legacy. You will find yourself being drawn to supporting people in your community, helping to alleviate their suffering, caring for the disadv­ant­aged, building a better society or helping people with their develo­pment. At the same time, you will also become more intros­pec­tive, looking for ways to deepen your sense of connection to your soul. You will find yourself becoming a keeper of wisdom, an elder or the person that younger people turn to for guidance and mentoring.

Download the Barrett: Seven Stages of Psychological Development Cheat Sheet

1 Page

PDF (recommended)

Alternative Downloads

Share This Cheat Sheet!



No comments yet. Add yours below!

Add a Comment

Your Comment

Please enter your name.

    Please enter your email address

      Please enter your Comment.

          Related Cheat Sheets

          Regular Expressions Cheat Sheet

          More Cheat Sheets by Davidpol

          Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Cheat Sheet