Show Menu

Islam: The 5 Pillars of Worship Cheat Sheet by

islam     pillars     worship

The 5 Pillars of Islam

1. The Declar­ation of Faith

The declar­ation of faith is bearing witness that there is no God worthy of worship except Allah, and Muhammad is His Messenger. It must be based on a sincere and firm belief in the heart, followed by action. With this declar­ation, a person rejects all false deities, asserts that Allah is the only One worthy of worship, and accepts His final Messenger, hence becoming a Muslim.

2. The Five Daily Prayers

Prayer establ­ishes a personal and spiritual connection between the Muslim and their Creator, and is a constant and practical reminder of a person’s duty to obey God. The five prayers are prescribed once each at dawn, noon, mid-af­ter­noon, sunset and nightfall. Each prayer can take a few minutes to perform, consisting of recitation of the Quran, suppli­cat­ions, praising Allah, and various movements. In prepar­ation for prayer, Muslims wash certain parts of their body, such as the face and hands, to ensure spiritual and physical purity.

3. The Annual Charity

The annual charity is an obligation on every Muslim who meets certain criteria (e.g. has wealth above a certain thresh­old). A mere 2.5% of one’s annual wealth is donated to those who are eligible, such as the poor, the needy or those in debt. It purifies one’s wealth and carries many benefits for both the giver and the receiver. One benefit is it reduces the gap between the rich and poor, ensuring everyone has their basic needs met.

4. The Annual Fasting (Repen­tance)

Every year during the month of Ramadan, Muslims fast from dawn until sunset, abstaining from food, drink and sexual relations. It serves as a spiritual purifi­cation, nurtures patience and self-r­est­raint, and provides many health benefits.

The 5 Pillars of Islam

5. The Pilgrimage

Pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca, in Saudi Arabia, must be performed once in a person’s life, if they are physically and financ­ially able. It occurs annually in the 12th month of the Islamic calendar, unifying people of every colour, race, status and age, as they join in worship of the One True God. All pilgrims wear simple and similar clothing, which strip away distin­ctions of class and culture, so that all stand equal before God. This great journey consists of many compon­ents, including sacrif­ices, travelling and praying at various sites. Such an experience is life altering and humbles a person, making them more patient and thankful.

The Concept of Worship

Any action that Allah is pleased with.

Islam’s concept of worship is not restricted to only the five pillars. Worship is an all-in­clusive term for any actions that are pleasing to Allah. Everyday activities can become acts of worship by purifying one’s intention and ensuring one’s actions are in line with God’s guidel­ines. Examples include smiling, being good to one’s neighb­ours, supporting one’s family, being honest, and even removing rubbish from the road.

It should be noted that Allah is not in need of anyone’s worship, rather, we are in need of Him and our worship is for our benefit

Download the Islam: The 5 Pillars of Worship Cheat Sheet

1 Page

PDF (recommended)

Alternative Downloads

Share This Cheat Sheet!



No comments yet. Add yours below!

Add a Comment

Your Comment

Please enter your name.

    Please enter your email address

      Please enter your Comment.

          Related Cheat Sheets

          Islamic Salat (Prayer) Cheat Sheet

          More Cheat Sheets by Davidpol